Traditional Music of Ireland

Shanachie 34014
In stock
Product Details

Featuring the trio later known as Bowhand: Paddy O'Brien (button accordion), James Kelly (fiddle), and Dáithí Sproule (guitar and vocals). Originally released as two LP recordings (Is It Yourself? and Spring in the Air) and eventually re-issued by Shanachie on a single CD and regarded by most Irish music lovers as one of the tradition’s classic, must-have recordings.

Order CD above right; also available as MP3s.

Hear samples and download from iTunes

Hear samples and download from Amazon


“Virtuosic players who invest these tunes with an almost off-hand grace…” — All Music Guide

“One of the great trios in the history of Irish traditional music…There’s never been a better blend of fiddle and box…”  — Don Meade, Irish Voice

Track List

  1. The Monahan Twig / John in the Mist
  2. Humors of Kilkenny / Drops of Spring Water
  3. The Foxhunter’s
  4. Lovely Willie / The Rakes of Kildare / The Horse’s Leotard
  5. The Rights Of Man / McGibbney’s Fancy
  6. The Small Hills of Offaly / Farewell To Old Dacency
  7. The Jolly Seven / McGettrick’s
  8. Paddy Taylor’s / Anderson’s
  9. Molly Bawn / The Sandpiper
  10. Cul Tiubh Na Bpearli
  11. Paddy Kelly’s / John Doherty’s
  12. The Stage / The Western
  13. John Doherty’s / The Antrim Rose
  14. Man Of The House / Ryan’s Rant
  15. Bracken’s / Mrs. Crotty’s / The Horse That Made a Haymes of His Winkers / The Kinnegad Slashers
  16. Jim Coleman’s / Patsy Touhey’s / Rodney Miller’s
  17. The Boys Of Mullaghbawn
  18. John Kelly’s / The Green Cottage / Cuil Aodha
  19. The Gravel Path / The Wild Irishman
  20. The Moving Cloud / Paddy Kelly’s Reels
  21. Down the Hill
  22. McCarthy’s Favorite / Spring in the Air / Miss Emily
  23. Hughie the Graeme
  24. The Duke of Leinster’s Wife / The Boys of Ballisadare
  25. John Doherty’s / Kitty Come Down to Limerick
  26. Sarah’s Delight / Seán sa Cheo
Save this product for later