Stranger at the Gate

GLCD 1091
Out of stock
Product Details

Paddy's first solo CD, recorded in 1998, features a few of his own compositions, including "The Foxhunters' Chorus," "The March of the Gaelic Order," "Tiny the Trooper," and "The Girls of Knocknagow." With piano accompaniment by Dáithí Sproule, and a special guest appearance by Paddy's wife, Erin Hart, singing "The Wounded Hussar," with accompaniment by Karen Andersen.


Hear samples and download from iTunes

Hear samples and download from Amazon


“Imagine riding in a schoolbus with a bunch of teenagers returning late at night from a game—and the driver decides to floor the gas pedal while descending a hill on a winding road in rural New England. (This is a personal recollection that I bring to mind). That's the best analogy I can think of the momentum Paddy's music seems to have—a mixture of glee, sheer joy, excitement, terror, and wonder all combined into one. I don't play the button accordion, but I would assume that O'Brien is one of the primary inspirations to people that do. Or should be.” — Amazon customer review

Track List

  1. The Mountain Meadow / The Highlander Who Kissed His Granny
  2. The Trip to Sligo / Dáithí Sproule's
  3. The Coachman's Whip / The Foxhunters' Chorus
  4. Lady Lyle / Liz Carroll's
  5. Stranger at the Gate / Miss Ratray
  6. The Wounded Hussar
  7. Miss Hutton / Miss Johnson of Pitworth
  8. Jimmy Powers' Favorite / The Luck of the Toss
  9. Paddy Fahy's / Miss Patterson's Slippers
  10. The Traveler's Reel / The Bird's Nest
  11. John Brady's / Garrett Barry's
  12. Colonel Rodney / The Reel of Bogie
  13. The Golden Eagle / Ed Reavey's Reel
  14. The Lament for Eoin Rua / The March of the Gaelic Order
  15. Dr. Gilbert's Wife / Gus Dolan's Reel
  16. Tiny the Trooper / The Girls of Knocknagow
  17. The Miller of Draughin / The Humours of Castlefin
Save this product for later